Main Menu

Dog License

How much is a dog license?

Tag Type Regular Price Late Registration Fee
1-Year Tag $12.00 $12.00
3-Year Tag $36.00 $36.00
Permanent Tag $120.00
Kennel Tags(5)
(Vendor’s licence required)
$60.00 $60.00
Additional Kennel Tags $2.00 $2.00
When Should I License My Dog?

The annual license renewal period is December 1 through January 31. If you have a new puppy, you must buy a license by the time he reaches three months old. If you have just moved into Pike County or if you just acquired a new dog, you must purchase a license within 30 days.
Where Do I Purchase A Dog License?

You can purchase a license by mail or in person at The Pike County Auditor’s Office or any of the locations listed in our brochure.
Must My Dog Wear A Tag?

YES. Ohio law requires it. The dog warden may impound dogs without tags.
Why Do I Need to License My Dog?

First, Ohio law requires that you license your dog. Second, a license tag attached to your dog’s collar proves ownership and is your pet’s ticket home if he gets lost.
What If I Forget To Buy My Dog’s License During The Rewal Period Of December 1st Through January 31st?

Ohio law requires a late fee ($10.00 in Pike County). Simply pay the fee of $20.00 for the current year’s license. There are no provisions in the law to waive the fee.
Can I Let My Dog Run Loose If He’s Licensed?

NO! It is against the law. Ohio law specifies that all dogs must be confined to your property or under reasonable control – such as on a leash when being walked. It is not safe to let your dog roam the neighborhood.
What Do I Do If I Find A Lost Dog?

If the dog is wearing a current Pike County license tag, call the Pike County Auditor’s Office at 740.947.4125 to find out the owner’s name. If the dog is not wearing a current license tag, call Deputy Delbert Tilley at 740.947.5996.
What If I Move?

If you move within Pike County, please call 740.947.4125 with your new address and telephone number so we can keep the information up-to-date. If you move to another county, call that County’s Auditor for licensing information.

Click Here to Purchase Dog License

Tag Type Regular Price Late Registration Fee
1-Year Tag $10.00 $10.00
3-Year Tag $30.00 $30.00
Permanent Tag $100.00 $10.00